Writers Block, Writer’s Block

By P.A.Thompson

Well, here we are again. Two months later. Remember when I announced:

I am excited. I’m at the point where I can actually ‘smell’ the end of the first draft of my WiP

Yeah…

So, block happens. Life happens. Goddammit.

We’ve had three waves of family visitors this summer and that was absolutely wonderful. Except for the part about me writing anything. One highlight of my brother’s visit was that they wanted me to read the rest of my WIP to them. I had read the first 12 chapters on their last visit. The four of them provided comments, critiques, and reactions. Invaluable stuff, really.

Anyway. Besides major league excuses about not writing, why haven’t I done more? I have/had a direction to go, I’ve ‘smelled’ the ending. I love my characters and can’t wait to finish the first draft so that I can go back and rewrite the first half of the book, to make the characters consistent. And to add all of the foreshadowing to the cool things I’ve come up with.

So, really. Why haven’t I done this?

I’m not really sure and it’s pissing me off.

Not to mention that my critiquing also seems to be on vacation. I (feel that) I owe Keith comments on his last few chapters of his novella, I owe Karen comments on at least ten of her chapters, and I need to catch up on Blandcorp’s story – I don’t know how many more chapters I’m behind on that one. And those are just the major ones off the top of my head.

Debbi needs to work on her story, so I can get behind on it. Chris needs to write some more and share it so I can get behind on it too. But, I did beta-read Kathleen’s novel and discuss it with her for a couple of hours. Oh, I can’t forget Sassy’s story, that I’ve totally gotten behind on and given up till she starts over. I’m sorry if there’s anyone I missed, just remind me, okay? I need to put more ‘behind’ me.

I write in drib-drabs of a couple of hundred words, but I’m not making real progress. At this rate I’ll be done in a few hundred years.

Do writer’s block other writers?

Maybe this is all just a rant at myself to pull my head out of my ass so I can kick myself in said ass and get this mofo story done!!

But, this is all BULLSHIT. I’m done talking about it.

6 comments

  1. Don’t worry – we’ve all been there. Just hang on and keep writing whatever you can manage. The pace will pickup eventually. Sometimes our brains just demand a little time off. 🙂

    Like

  2. Stop blogging about it and do it. There really is no other way to tip toe around it.
    Your work comes first.
    Reach your own targets so you don’t get depressed with writing and then contribute critiques to others. Then blog about the art of writing, or the latest book your reading, or presidential election race.
    Be selfish about it. You have made a commitment to writing like a husband does to his wife or a father does to his kids. It comes first, same way that you make sure your kids have a drink before you do. Or that your wife is comfortable and can relax before you do. When you sit at the keyboard and start writing, put it first.

    Like

    1. Good points.

      Writing about being blocked is a way to un-block. At least you’re writing, right?

      Focus on your work in whatever way you can is part of what I was trying to get across, and this blog helped me do that.
      I’m making a public commitment to finishing my first draft by the end of the month. Not an easy thing for me even if I figure it will only take me 500 words a day. I AM a slow writer.

      I’ll report on my progress next week.

      Thanks for the comments.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment