Is my subconscious a better writer?

by P.A.Thompson

 

I had a chat with some fellow writers recently about a female character in my WIP.  I got some varied opinions of course.  Some thought she was shallow; some thought she was unprofessional; and others liked her (okay, just one person).

So, of course, as writers do, I thought about her and how I wanted her to be.   I wasn’t really sure.  As I’ve said before, this whole story has been ‘pantsed’ – It started from a writing prompt and since I liked the characters I created, I decided to expand the story.  I still had no idea where it might go.

I’d read my original short to a real life critique group that I belong to and they liked it.  As time went on, I shared the re-writes and expanded the story.  Then my MC ran into a girl.   They had some interaction and he moved on.  When I read this to my group,  I got several comments that they hoped she was involved more in the story.

Hmmm.  Okay, I could do that.  And now a deeper plot began to form in my head and the story began to evolve.  Now I have about 12 or 13 chapters written or sketched out and this character has been solidified – mostly.

Now, getting back to the chat with my fellow writers.  They’ve seen three chapters and have commented on “the girl”.  This got me thinking about her and I started bouncing ideas, and questions, off my wife – my “alpha critiquer”.  We talked about “the girl” for a while and then my wife made an insightful comment about the character that stopped me.  I hadn’t seen my female character the way my wife did.  Really, I said.  Tell me more.  And she rattled off a couple more points.  Huh, I told her.  I hadn’t thought of that either.

Oh, she replied.  I thought you were writing her that way.

I had no idea I was.  But somewhere deep inside, I must have known.

So, the question remains:  Is my subconscious a better writer than I am?

What do you think?  Do you discover different nuances of your characters when someone else points it out?  Do you like these hidden facets that you’ve written when you find them?  Or do you go:  Oh no, re-write!  Delete!  Delete!  Delete!

 

3 comments

  1. You are your subconscious. I like this quote: “No thinking — that comes later. You must write your first draft with your heart. You rewrite with your head. The first key to writing is… to write, not to think!” from Finding Forrester, the movie.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment